With an area of Just 643,801 km², France has 12 Time zones

by Aadarsh Jain

With an area of Just 643,801 km², France has 12 Time zones

June 1, 2021

France is a country that has the largest number of time zones. It spreads across 12 different time zones that range from UTC-10 to UTC+12. France has a large number of national territories scattered all over the world, which is the main reason for this.

As the Earth spins on its axis, various regions receive light or darkness. In the late 1880s, a team of scientists introduced a method of subdividing the world into various time zones.

If each time zone is considered 1 hour apart, there would be 24 in the world.

However, the International Date Line (IDL) creates 3 more. Also, several time zones are only 30 or 45 minutes apart, increasing the total number of standard time zones even further.

Time Zones of France

France observes twelve time zones, mainly because it has many overseas territories. The official time for Metropolitan France is set as GMT+1 while the time zones in its international territories fall between UTC-10:00 in most regions of French Polynesia to UTC+12:00 in the territories of Wallis and Futuna. 

The fundamental reason for this is that France has a huge number of national regions distributed over the globe. The Pacific Ocean’s French Polynesia is mostly to blame for this occurrence. The United States of America is likewise divided into a huge number of time zones, 11 to be precise. This is unsurprising given that the country spans the whole continent. Despite this, only six of the eleven time zones are on the continent.There were only nine standard time zones used by Russia before.

France observes twelve time zones, mainly because it has many overseas territories.

What Is Coordinated Universal Time

The Coordinated Universal Time (UTC), which is our world’s standard time, is used to designate most time zones on our globe. The majority of time zones are one hour behind UTC, although there are a few that are 30 or 45 minutes behind. The Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) is a close version of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT), the mean solar time observed at the Royal Observatory in Greenwich, London.

Current Timezones of France

1) UTC−10:00 — most of French Polynesia

2) UTC−09:30 — Marquesas Islands

3) UTC−09:00 — Gambier Islands

4) UTC−08:00 — Clipperton Island

5) UTC−04:00 (AST) — Guadeloupe, Martinique, Saint Barthelemy, Saint Martin

6) UTC−03:00 (PMST) — French Guiana, Saint Pierre and Miquelon

7) UTC+01:00 (CET) — Metropolitan France

8) UTC+03:00 — Mayotte

9) UTC+04:00 — Réunion

10) UTC+05:00 — Kerguelen Islands, Crozet Islands

11) UTC+11:00 — New Caledonia

12) UTC+12:00 — Wallis and Futuna



Recommended for you

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More